Brooklyn-based composer and multimedia artist-producer Nell Shaw Cohen writes lyrically expressive, visually evocative music for chamber ensembles, orchestra, solo voice, choir, wind ensemble, and rock band. The JACK Quartet, WordSong, and members of The Chelsea Symphony and A Far Cry, among others, have performed her music in museums, concert halls, theaters, and salons. Cohen is 2013-14 Composer-in-Residence for the NYU Symphony, which commissioned and premiered her tone poem Point Reyes from Chimney Rock at the Skirball Center.

Cohen also produces video and interactive media at Beyond the Notes. Her unique multimedia pieces, such as The Faraway Nearby, have been viewed by thousands online.

Join the mailing list or follow @nellshawcohen to receive updates about performances and projects.

April 29, 2014 at 8:30pm
Nell Shaw Cohen's The Coming of Spring and Multimedia Works

This recital will feature a staged workshop performance of my one-act monodrama for tenor and chamber ensemble, The Coming of Spring, inspired by the life and paintings of Charles E. Burchfield, conducted by David Rosenmeyer and directed by Herschel Garfein. The program will also include screenings of multimedia works Explore John Muir's Yosemite and Horizon: New York. View this event on Facebook.

Provincetown Playhouse, 133 MacDougal Street, New York, NY. Free admission.

April 28, 2014 at 7:30pm
NYU Contemporary Music Ensemble
California Zephyr for video and piccolo, clarinet, percussion, piano, violin, viola, cello, and bass will receive its premiere on this a program featuring composers in the Master of Music program at NYU Steinhardt.

Frederick Loewe Theatre, 35 West 4th Street, New York, NY. Free admission.

Featured Compositions and Multimedia Projects

Visit Music for a full list of works

Beyond the Notes

Unique online multimedia experiences exploring the visual and performing arts, from online art installations integrating music and video to interactive documentaries exploring music history.

Visit for an overview of all current projects.

Music Inspired by Art The Marin Headlands in Fog John Heiss on Charles Ives

Music Inspired by Art

This short video explores Cohen's multimedia concert programs featuring music inspired by visual art. Learn about Cohen's music inspired by art.

The Winding Path (2013)

String Quartet performed by The JACK Quartet. Learn about this performance.

Watercolors (2011)

A Musical Tribute to Charles Burchfield at the Parrish Art Museum performed by The Chelsea Quintet. Learn about Watercolors.

The Faraway Nearby: Georgia O'Keeffe and the New Mexico Landscape (2010)

Original video and score for flute, clarinet, piano, violin, and cello.
Learn about The Faraway Nearby.

© 2013 Nell Shaw Cohen. All rights reserved.
Send questions and comments to